State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase IV

Environmental Law Institute
Date Released
October 2007
State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase IV

This report is the fourth and final phase in ELI's multi-year study on the "core" components of state wetland programs (which include: state laws, regulations, and programs; monitoring and assessment; restoration programs and activities; water quality standards; public-private partnerships; coordination among state and federal agencies; and education and outreach activities). Each phase of the study examines a cross-section of states representing various approaches to wetland protection and regulation, as well as geographic diversity. State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase IV includes profiles of Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Tennessee. Phase I, Phase II, and Phase III (released in 2005, 2006, and 2007, respectively) profile the other 37 states (each is available for free download on this website). ELI anticipates releasing a "roll-up" report describing status and trends, model programs, and summary data for all 50 states in 2008. This study is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

R&P Programs and Projects