Steering Committee

The Project Steering Committee provides input into project direction, methodology, and deliverables. The Steering Committee brings a cross-section of expertise on Tribal cultural resources, natural resource management, California CEQA/local planning law, Tribal community health and wellness, and state/local government agency decision-making.


Steering Committee Members: 

  • Michele Fahley, Deputy General Counsel, Pechanga Indian Reservation
  • Salvina Norris, Vice Chairperson of the Board of Directors, Dry Creek Rancheria 
  • Tieraney Valencia-Giron, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer, Dry Creek Rancheria 
  • Ken Norton (Hoopa Valley Tribe), Director of the TEPA and Land Management Departments, Hoopa Valley Tribe and Chair, National Tribal Water Council
  • Dr. Mark LeBeau (Pit River Nation), Executive Director, California Rural Indian Health Board
  • Dr. Jane Clough, Senior Regional Planner/Tribal Liaison, San Diego Association of Governments
  • Merri Lopez-Keifer (San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians), Director of the Office of Native American Affairs California Department of Justice – Office of the Attorney General
  • Theodore Griswold, Partner, Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch, LLP
  • Dr. Giorgio Curti, Lecturer, Geography Department, San Diego State University / Co-Owner, Cultural Geographics Consulting
Sequoia National Forest