State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase II

Environmental Law Institute
Date Released
June 2006
State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase II

ELI is currently conducting a multi-phased study designed to describe and analyze seven "core" components of state wetland programs: state laws, regulations, and programs; monitoring and assessment; restoration programs and activities; water quality standards; public-private partnerships; coordination among state and federal agencies; and education and outreach activities.  Each phase of the study examines a cross-section of states representing various approaches to wetland protection and regulation, as well as geographic diversity. State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase II includes profiles of Florida, Hawaii, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.  State Wetland Program Evaluation: Phase I, which evaluated 12 state programs was released in 2005 and ELI will profile the remaining states in two additional phases, anticipated for completion in 2007.  This study is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

R&P Programs and Projects