ELI Primary Menu

Skip to main content

Call for Nominations for 2002 National Wetlands Awards

October 2001

Nomination forms are currently available from the Environmental Law Institute® for the 2002 National Wetlands Awards. The deadline for submitting nominations is December 15, 2001.

The Awards program honors individuals from across the United States. Awardees demonstrate extraordinary effort, innovation, and excellence in wetland conservation, research, or education through programs or projects at the regional, state, or local level. All Awards are made to individuals, not to organizations. (Please note that federal employees are not eligible for recognition in this program.)

The five categories for the National Wetlands Awards are:

  • Education/Outreach,
  • Science Research,
  • Volunteer Leadership,
  • Land Stewardship and Development, and
  • Outstanding Wetlands Program Development

A Selection Committee composed of wetland experts drawn from business, conservation organizations, and state and federal government will select the winners from among nominations received. The awards will be presented during June 2002 in a ceremony held in Washington, DC, on Capitol Hill.

Each National Wetlands Awardee provides a shining example of how individuals can make a difference in wetlands protection and restoration. The work of Awardees educates the public and neighbors in their communities about the value of wetlands, the programs that are available to protect and restore wetlands, and how cooperation with grassroots organizations, educational organizations, private landowners, and federal, state and local government agencies can serve to protect a valuable resource in a constructive manner.

The program is organized by the Environmental Law Institute® with the generous co-sponsorship of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, USDA Forest Service, and National Marine Fisheries Service.

To receive a copy of the 2002 National Wetlands Awards nomination form, or for more information about the awards, contact Dorigen Fried at (202) 939-3250 or e-mail fried@eli.org. You may also write to the National Wetlands Awards Program, Environmental Law Institute, 2000 L Street, NW, Suite 620, Washington, DC 20036 or visit the National Wetlands Awards Web site at http://www.nationalwetlandsawards.org/index.htm.