Monthly PFAS Briefing: PFAS Community Impacts

When
July 23, 2024 12:00 pm — 1:00 pm
Where
Webinar Only
RSVP

This event is open ONLY to ELI members, and to non-members who pay a $25 fee. Eligible members and paying non-members should REGISTER HERE by JULY 19. Contact events@eli.org with any questions. For more information on becoming a member of ELI so that you would receive routine access to these briefings, please visit our membership page.

Webinar information will be emailed to all eligible registrants the business day prior to the event.

If you are unsure if you can access the webinar via the Zoom platform, please check your system requirements. If you are unable to participate via the Zoom platform, you may join in listen-only mode using a telephone.

All times noted are Eastern Time. The briefing begins at 12:00 Noon Eastern, 11:00 AM Central, 10:00 AM Mountain, and 9:00 AM Pacific.


Staying on top of the legal and policy developments in the PFAS arena is no small task. As a special service to our members, the Environmental Law Institute provides a monthly series of webinars with co-authors of the PFAS Deskbook, James Pollack and Isabel Carey, and national experts on PFAS to keep you up to date, answer your questions, and highlight a unique topic related to PFAS during each session.


Communities in North Carolina have been at the forefront of PFAS activism with the Chemours plant along Cape Fear River. Researchers have found that, in the years before the contamination was uncovered, levels of just one of the chemicals in the drinking water were 78 times higher than what the Environmental Protection Agency now says is safe. In this webinar, we will explore the different avenues that communities have used to draw attention and regulatory action to PFAS contamination.

Speakers:
Isabel Carey, Senior Associate, Marten Law, Moderator
Jamie DeWitt, Director, Pacific Northwest Center for Translational Environmental Health Research, Oregon State University 
Emily Donovan, Co-Founder, Clean Cape Fear
Rebecca Trammel, Community Organizer, Clean Cape Fear

Materials:
ELI members logged on to the Members site will have access to a recording of this session (usually posted within 2 business days). If you are not an ELI member but would like to have access to archived sessions like this one, please see the many benefits of membership and how to join.


NOTE: The event recording is for ELI members only. No comments may be quoted or used without the express written permission of ELI and the panelist.