Monthly PFAS Briefing: Hazardous Substance Designation

When
March 26, 2024 12:00 pm — 1:00 pm
Where
Webinar Only
RSVP

This event is open ONLY to ELI members, and to non-members who pay a $25 fee. Eligible members and paying non-members should REGISTER HERE by MARCH 22. Contact events@eli.org with any questions. For more information on becoming a member of ELI so that you would receive routine access to these briefings, please visit our membership page.

Webinar information will be emailed to all eligible registrants the business day prior to the event.

If you are unsure if you can access the webinar via the Zoom platform, please check your system requirements. If you are unable to participate via the Zoom platform, you may join in listen-only mode using a telephone.

All times noted are Eastern Time. The briefing begins at 12:00 Noon Eastern, 11:00 AM Central, 10:00 AM Mountain, and 9:00 AM Pacific.


Staying on top of the legal and policy developments in the PFAS arena is no small task. As a special service to our members, the Environmental Law Institute provides a monthly series of webinars with author of the PFAS Deskbook, James Pollack, and national experts on PFAS to keep you up to date, answer your questions, and highlight a unique topic related to PFAS during each session.


As the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) moves forward with its proposal to designate both PFOA and PFOS as hazardous substances under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), potentially responsible parties (PRPs) with Superfund liability could include manufacturers of PFAS chemicals, owners of contaminated land, transporters of PFAS, handlers of contaminated waste, and others. The delay in the official CERCLA designation could mean a broadening of EPA’s listing to include other PFAS chemicals, which would implicate further PRPs. EPA has announced a plan to exert its enforcement discretion in implementing cleanups. We will discuss these developments and how, together, they kick off a new era in Superfund.

Speakers:
To Be Announced

Materials:
ELI members logged on to the Members site will have access to a recording of this session (usually posted within 2 business days). If you are not an ELI member but would like to have access to archived sessions like this one, please see the many benefits of membership and how to join.


NOTE: The event recording is for ELI members only. No comments may be quoted or used without the express written permission of ELI and the panelist.