Environmental Law & Policy Annual Review

Washington, DC, Conference Environmental Law Institute Friday, April 3, 2020 9:30 AM – 3:00 PM

Welcome and Introduction 9:30 AM – 9:50 AM

Linda K. Breggin, Senior Attorney, Environmental Law Institute

Michael P. Vandenbergh, David Daniels Allen Distinguished Chair of Law, Vanderbilt University Law School

Elizabeth Holden, Editor-in-Chief, ELPAR

Courtney Tibbetts, Development Editor, ELPAR

Markets, Externalities, and the Federal Power Act: The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's Authority to Price Carbon Dioxide Emissions

9:50 AM - 11:05 AM

Panel Introduction: Taylor Kim, Article Editor, ELPAR

Bethany Davis Noll (author), Litigation Director, Institute for Policy Integrity, Adjunct Professor, NYU School of Law

Burcin Unel (author), Energy Policy Director, Institute for Policy Integrity, NYU School of Law

Diana Jeschke, Counsel, Crowell & Moring

Max Minzner, General Counsel, Arcadia Power

Kim Smaczniak, Managing Attorney, Clean Energy Program, Earthjustice

Break

11:05 AM - 11:25 AM

Making Sustainability Disclosure Sustainable

11:25 AM - 1:10 PM

Panel Introduction: Elizabeth A. Dunn, Article Editor, ELPAR

Jill E. Fisch (author), Saul A. Fox Distinguished Professor of Business Law; Co-Director, Institute for Law and Economics, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School

Nikki Adame-Winningham, Environmental Corporate Counsel, Pfizer

Rick Fleming, Investor Advocate, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Julia Hatcher, Partner, Latham & Watkins

Veena Ramani, Senior Program Director, Capital Market Systems, Ceres

Tom Riesenberg, Director of Legal and Regulatory Policy, Sustainability Accounting Standards Board

Break

1:10 PM - 1:30 PM

Energy Exactions

1:30 PM - 2:45 PM

Panel Introduction: Charles H. Spencer-Davis, Article Editor, ELPAR

Jim Rossi (author), Associate Dean for Research; Judge D. L. Lansden Chair in Law, Vanderbilt University Law School

Christopher Serkin (author), Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Elisabeth H. and Granville S. Ridley Jr. Chair in Law, Vanderbilt University Law School

Deron Lovaas, Director, EEFA, Resilient Communities, Healthy People & Thriving Communities Program, Natural Resources Defense Council

Carl Pechman, Director, National Regulatory Research Institute, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners

Benjamin Wechsler, Attorney, Yumkas, Vidmar, Sweeney & Mulrenin, LLC

Closing Remarks - Conclusion

2:45 PM - 2:50 PM

Linda Breggin & Michael Vandenbergh