February 23, 2017 - February 25, 2017

Advancing brief writing and oral advocacy skills in environmental law for an extraordinary educational opportunity


Outstanding Reputation. Instituted in 1989, The Jeffrey G. Miller National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition (NELMCC) is the largest interschool moot court competition of any kind under one roof, regularly attracting 200 competitors from law schools from all over the nation. Highly competitive with tremendous educational value, NELMCC has established a national standard of excellence in moot court competitions.

Exceptional Learning Experience. NELMCC provides an intellectual workout for competitors through complex legal analysis of today’s thorny environmental issues presented in the Problem. Competitors research and analyze the issues before writing persuasive arguments for one party advocating how the issues should be resolved. Competitors are then required to argue the issues orally for all three parties, rounding out the rigorous academic experience.

National Prominence. NELMCC is the centerpiece of the Elisabeth Haub School of Law (formerly Pace Law School) Environmental Law Program, ranked third in environmental law nationally by US News and World Report.

ABA SEER Award Winner. NELMCC is the recipient of the 2013 ABA SEER's Distinguished Achievement in Environmental Law and Policy Award for its broad national reach in engaging environmental law students on appellate brief writing and advocacy and commitment from environmental practitioners and the judiciary who judge and critique the competitors.

Splendid Location. The beautiful campus of Elisabeth Haub School of Law is located only 20 miles north of New York City with convenient access to the city and major airports.

For more information, click here.


The University of Mississippi won the 2016 Competition, edging out finalist teams from The University of Alabama and University of Houston. The David Sive Award for Best Brief Overall went to The University of Alabama, with Lewis & Clark and The University of Mississippi winning best briefs for the remaing two parties. The Best Oralist, Sarah Beasley, was from Florida State, with honorable mention going to John Juricich of The University of Mississippi.

Click here for copies of the briefs that were submitted by the 54 teams. Go HERE to watch a video of the competition's final round.