ELI Primary Menu

Skip to main content

Advanced Monitoring, Remote Sensing, and Data Gathering, Analysis and Disclosure in Compliance and Enforcement (2015 J.B. and Maurice C. Shapiro Environmental Law Symposium)


March 26, 2015 - March 27, 2015


Washington, DC

Panels for this year's symposium included:

  • The State of the Art of Technology
  • Advanced Monitoring
  • Citizen Monitoring
  • Information Gathering, Analysis and Disclosure
  • State Perspectives
  • Policy Perspectives

 Video and presentation materials are available for download at the individual links below.



Thursday, March 26

8:30-9 am: Registration

9 am-12:30 pm: Panel One | The State of the Art of Technology [view Video]


Jay Benforado, Deputy Chief Innovation Office, U.S. EPA Office of Research and Development


  • Jim Bonner, Clarkson University, Chief Research Officer, Beacon Institute for Rivers and Estuaries [PDF]
  • Tim Dye, Sonoma Technologies [PDF]
  • Steve Hamburg, Chief Scientist, EDF [PDF]
  • Peter Preuss, Chief Innovation Officer, EPA Office of Research and Development [PDF]
  • Beth Stauffer, University of Louisiana - Lafayette, former Fellow at EPA ORD) [PDF]
  • Mark Trekell, Director, IBM [PDF]
  • Sara Wylie, Northeastern University and Public Laboratory for Open Technology and Science [PDF]

12:30-1:45 pm: Lunch with Speaker Gary Marchant, Regents Professor of Law, Arizona State Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law [PDF]

1:45-2 pm: Presentation of the Jamie Grodsky Prize for Environmental Scholarship

2-4 pm: Panel Two | Advanced Monitoring [view Video]


David Hindin, Senior Policy Director for Innovation and Next Generation Compliance, U.S. EPA Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance [PDF]


  • Lee Breckenridge, Northeastern University School of Law
  • Keith Cartnick, Director of Water Quality Compliance, United Water [PDF]
  • David Grinlinton, University of Auckland Faculty of Law [PDF]
  • Cameron Holley, University of NSW
  • Matthew Klein, Adjunct Professor, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
  • Darren Sinclair, The Australian National University [PDF]
  • Anastasia Telesetsky, University of Idaho College of Law [PDF]

4-4:15 pm: Break

4:15-5:30 pm: Panel Three | Citizen Monitoring [view Video]


Lee Paddock, The George Washington University Law School


  • Anne Havemann, Center for Progressive Reform [PDF]
  • Margaret Parish, Hogan & Lovells [PDF]
  • Irma Russell, University of Montana [PDF]

5:30 pm: Preview of RSM Erasmus University Program by Professor Martin de Bree [PDF]


Friday, March 27

8-8:30 am: Continental Breakfast

8:30-10:30 am: Panel Four | Information Gathering, Analysis, and Disclosure [view Video]


Ken Markowitz, Managing Director, International Network of Environmental Compliance and Enforcement


  • Julien Betaille, Toulouse 1 University Capitole [PDF]
  • Han de Haas, Policy Advisor on Enforcement, Province of Brabant
  • Cameron Holley, University of New South Wales Law School [PDF]
  • Ronan Kennedy, National University of Ireland, Galway [PDF]
  • Darren Sinclair, University of New South Wales Law School

10:30-10:45 am: Break

10:45 am-12:15 pm: Panel Five | State Perspectives [view Video]


Thomas Burack, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services [PDF]


  • Katie Koelfgen, Manager, Land and Air Compliance, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency [PDF]
  • Mohsen Nazemi, Deputy Executive Office, Office of Engineering and Compliance, South Coast Air Quality Management District [PDF]
  • Victoria Phillips, Director, Enterprise Information Office, Mass DEP [PDF]

12:15-1:30 pm: Lunch with Speaker Cynthia Giles, Assistant Administrator, EPA Office of Enforcement and Compliance Monitoring [PDF]

1:30-3:30 pm: Panel Six | Policy Perspectives [view Video]


Steve Hellem, Corporate Environmental Enforcement Council


  • Steven Cook, LyondellBasell
  • John Dombrowski, Director, Enforcement Targeting and Data Division, EPA
  • Robert Glicksman, The George Washington University Law School [PDF]
  • Tracy Hester, University of Houston Law Center [PDF]
  • David Hindin, EPA [PDF]
  • David Markell, Florida State University College of Law
  • Glenn Sanford, Sam Houston State University
  • Jon Silberman, EPA